4-up Team Time Trial

Suffering at the hand of roadworks, the course took on a more sporting feel. That didn't stop Teeside putting in an absolutely storming performance - their average speed was actually faster than that of last year's winning team, Oxford. This time, Oxford finished almost two minutes down in second place, and only one second ahead of Bronze medallists Manchester.

It seems that the clash with the BUSA MTB weekend made no difference to the quality of teams present at this most competitive event!

Course: BS29 (revised) (Gayton circuit, 29m)

Date: Sunday 15th March, 1998

17 (or so) teams entered

GOLDTeeside University 1:04'30"27.070mph
(Martyn Dobson, Richard Vail, Andrew Jackson, Neville Jackson)
SILVEROxford University 1:06'29"26.262mph
(Jim Henderson, Digby Symonds, Andrew Salmon, Dave Worthington)
BRONZEManchester University 'A' 1:06'30"26.256mph
(Ross Muir, Steve Calland, Gareth Williams)


It's quiet in here...Add your comment

Get more out of your power meter!Free sign-up now

Recent Updates

07 Jul : Do It Yourself!
27 Oct : My Car Costs
13 Feb : Great Days Out
02 Sep : Nature
25 Nov : Piano for the Amateur
14 Nov : Measure
12 Oct : Simple Programming Exercises
11 Oct : Model Railways
01 Sep : The Developer's Apple Mac
21 May : Influencers

About the author

My name is John Swindells and I'm a keen recreational cyclist with a preference for long one-day rides. I've also previously dabbled in time trialling and cyclo-cross. See more of what I get up to on Strava!