Cycle Speedway: Under-16's Championships

Eaton Park, home of Norwich Cycle Speedway Club, hosts the British Under 16 Team Championships on Saturday 10th May.

There will be nine teams from across Britain contesting the title and the racing gets underway at 12.00 noon.

The first semi-final sees the defending champions, Hethersett take to the newly refurbished circuit, alongside Great Blakenham, Poole and Sheffield. The Hethersett team are no strangers to Eaton Park and will start as favourites to qualify from their semi-final.

The second semi-final starts at 1.30pm and sees the home team in action against Wednesfield, Sandwell, Ipswich and last year's runners up, Leicester.

The Norwich team will be led by Suffolk-based George Solomon alongside CNS pupils, James Wakefield, Liam Parker, Danny Wright and Josh Colby.

Confidence amongst the riders is high and the team's aim is to make the final. Norwich's main rivals in the second semi-final will be Leicester who can boast the current British Under 16 Champion Carl Jarvis in their ranks.

The final starts at 4.00pm and a large crowd is expected so arrive early to avoid disappointment.


It's quiet in here...Add your comment

Get more out of your power meter!Free sign-up now

Related Reading

About the author

My name is John Swindells and I'm a keen recreational cyclist with a preference for long one-day rides. I've also previously dabbled in time trialling and cyclo-cross. See more of what I get up to on Strava!